Regulatory Compliance

The Mandt System® Continuing Education Units with IACET

IACET is known as the premier standard-setting organization for continuing education and training providers.  From the original 10 Criteria developed by the task force, the standards have evolved into criteria with guidelines that have become the basis of their accreditation standards.

In 2006, IACET was approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as a Standards Developer.  The set of IACET Standards that were developed as a result were approved by ANSI on October 5, 2007. What was formerly IACET Criteria & Guidelines is now ANSI/IACET 1-2007 Standard.

In addition to this effort, IACET is part of the U.S. delegation to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) TC232 group which is developing a set of international ISO standards.

The Mandt System® as an IACET member, is dedicated to quality continuing education and training.  We are pleased to provide a group of educational professionals

The Mandt System® is an IACET Authorized Provider which:

  • Provides CEUs to people completing all Mandt System® training
  • Promotes quality and consistency in continuing education and training;
  • Reviews educational processes used by organizations, not the content of activities, courses, or program;
  • Recognizes and Monitors providers against established ANSI/IACET Standards;

Some Accreditation FAQ’s:

Q. What is the IACET Continuing Education Unit (CEU)?

One IACET Continuing Education Unit (CEU) is defined as 10 contact hours of participation in an organized continuing education experience under responsible sponsorship, capable direction, and qualified instruction.

Q. What is the purpose of the IACET CEU?

The primary purpose of the CEU is to provide a permanent record of the educational accomplishments of an individual who has completed one or more significant non-credit educational experiences. Awarding the IACET CEU also provides a quality indicator for your continuing education and training programs because it means that you have been reviewed and approved as complying with internationally recognized standards.

Q. How is the IACET CEU awarded?

The IACET CEU may be awarded only by organizations that have been reviewed and approved as Authorized Providers. (The ANSI/IACET Standards and Authorized Provider application can be downloaded at Note that awarding the IACET CEU requires that a record be established for each individual to whom CEUs are awarded and that a transcript of that record be made available to participants upon request.

Q. Can IACET CEUs be awarded for partial credit?

No. A participant must successfully complete the entire event or program before any IACET CEUs can be offered.

Q. How many IACET CEUs can be awarded for a learning activity?

One CEU is awarded for every 10 contact hours (60 minutes) of instruction in a planned learning activity. Instructional hours do not include time involved in coffee breaks, meals, social activities, or business and committee meetings.

Q. Who accepts IACET CEUs?

Just like college credits that are given at one university and transferred to another, any organization has the right to accept or reject IACET CEUs. IACET is a well-known organization that is recognized as upholding standards of excellence when it comes to continuing education, and therefore many organizations will accept IACET CEUs. If you are concerned about whether particular organizations or associations will accept IACET CEUs, we recommend that you contact them directly.

Q. Can you tell me which colleges accept the IACET CEU?

CEUs are different from college credits; thus, IACET cannot assure you that they are accepted by any specific organization. CEUs were originally designed for professionals who had already attained a certain level of education and needed to take a certain amount of continuing education and training per year to renew their license or certification—such as engineers, nurses and other health-care-related professionals, teachers, early childhood educators, human resource professionals, etc. Most colleges will not directly accept CEUs for college or graduate credit. However, some colleges and universities will look at an individual’s portfolio that includes work experience and continuing education and training offerings (measured by CEUs). The Council on Adult and Experiential Learning helps universities set up programs to turn work experience and continuing education and training activities into college credits, and it may have a list of institutions that have such programs. Also, the American College Advisory Service helps individuals turn CEUs into undergraduate and graduate credit for a fee.

Q. Who keeps a permanent record of the IACET CEUs awarded?

The Mandt System® keeps a permanent record of the IACET CEUs awarded through The Mandt System® programs.


To register for a Mandt System class in your area, click here.